ESL Pro League Season 8 begins today

The eighth season of ESL Pro is scheduled to begin today across two different continents with 26 professional teams ready to compete for a spot in the Grand Finals.

League Format

Being arguably the largest CS:GO tournament in terms of scale, the ESL Pro League is split across several continents, namely Europe, North America, South America, Oceania, and Asia. The European and North American tournaments begin today, while the Oceanian and Asian ones will take place later in October.

The first stage of the tournament will come in the form of the Online Round-Robin League Format. The games will be played online, rather than at a physical location. According to this format, every team will play against all others in two best-of-one matches. For every match won a team will receive points. A standard match will award 3 points, whereas a game that goes into overtime will award 2 points to the winner and 1 point to the losing team. The rankings will be determined based on the whole number of points at the end of the tournament.

The top seven European teams will advance to the Grand Finals, while the top eleven will be directly invited to Season 9. The bottom teams will be relegated, with the worst performing team being directly sent to ESEA Premier.

The top six North American teams will get to participate in the Grand Finals, with the top nine eligible to participate in Season 9. Teams placed 10th and 11th will be sent to relegation, while the 12th team being relegated to ESEA Premier.

Participating Teams

A combined total of 26 teams will participate in North American and European tournament. These will be separated into two leagues based on the continent from which they originate. More specifically, the list of teams include:

Europe North America
Astralis Cloud9
FaZe Clan Ghost Gaming
Fnatic Team Liquid
G2 Esports Luminosity Gaming
HellRaisers MIBR
Heroic NRG Esports
mousesports Renegades
Natus Vincere Rogue
Ninjas in Pyjamas INTZ eSports
North eUnited
Space Soldiers compLexity Gaming
BIG Team Envy
AGO Esports
Windigo Gaming

Grand Finals

The ESL Pro League Finals will take place once all five leagues have played through their respective tournaments. The event is staged for 4 December and will run until 9 December. The prize pool for the tournament is $750,000, of which $250,000 will go to the first place winner, $110,000 to second place, $55,000 to third and fourth place each, with the remainder being split among the other lower ranking teams.

The tournament will be held in the Sparekassen Fyn Arena in Odense, Denmark and will be streamed online. The 16 competing teams will be seeded based on the results of the continental leagues. More specifically:

  • 7x European Teams
  • 6x North American Teams
  • 1x Oceanian Team
  • 1x Asian Team
  • 1x South American Team

The post ESL Pro League Season 8 begins today appeared first on eSportsJunkie.

Source link

Share with your friends!

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *